NEW YEAR, NEW YOU!

Well, here we are folks. We made it to 2017.

The year of invest is here.

Last year, I made six goals and achieved three of them.

This year, I decided to take a different approach. As I was scrolling through my Facebook feed last week, I stumbled upon a link  to an intriguing article on Forbes:

The Personal Balanced Scorecard: A Tool For Your Own End-Of-Year Review

“You can’t manage what you don’t measure,” is a quote commonly attributed to Management thinker Peter Drucker. I’m a metrics junkie. A good chunk of my job as an analyst revolves around directing and influencing decisions to achieve positive outcomes and mitigate risks. The best way to do that? Data. Lots and lots of data. Numbers don’t lie, right?

You can’t manage what you don’t measure. I kept coming back to that phrase when thinking up ways to live out my theme of invest. When it came down to it, six goals wasn’t enough. After reading the Forbes article and working through my own personal balanced scorecard, I created 45 individual goals (you can view them here.) When creating the goals, I did my best to go by the SMART (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Timely) acronym. My aim was to ensure that you wouldn’t find a vague, “Lose weight!” or “Get sexy for summer!” on the list.

While I would love to hit 100% of my goals, we all know that life has a way of throwing us a curve ball from time to time. So what constitutes a successful year? For me, it comes down to two things:

  1. Hit 88% of my goals (40 out of 45)
  2. Answer “yes” to the “Are you happy?” question

To stay honest, I’ll do a mid-year update to show you my progress. What about you? Does a personal balanced scorecard sound like something you would try? What steps are you going to take this year to achieve your goals or live out your theme?

One thought on “NEW YEAR, NEW YOU!

Leave a Reply

