A Look Back at 2016

My theme for 2016 was intentionality. I chose this theme because, “my biggest problem is that I’m lazy and lack discipline in areas of personal growth.  I try and stick with something, but soon lose the will to continue over time.” To that end, I picked the following goals to achieve:

  1. At the end of 2016, be at or below 190 pounds.
  2. At the end of 2016, I’ll have run at least a total of 250 miles.
  3. At the end of 2016, I will have read three books.
  4. At the end of 2016, I’ll have written and published a total of 50 blog posts
  5. At the end of 2016, we’ll have paid off $5,000 in debt.
  6. At least once a month, take my wife out on a date without the kids.

Let’s see how we did….

  1. Weighed in this morning at 216.2.
  2. Ran a whopping 29.98 miles (although my focus was weight-lifting when I was being consistent in the gym between May-July.)
  3. Read the following books:

4. After I publish this, I’ll be at 24 posts for the year.
5. Honestly, I didn’t track this as closely as a should have. That said, in the course of                 doing the budget, I know we paid off at least $5,000 in debt this past year.
6. According to Google Calendar, we made 11 out of 12 months.

Out of the six goals I laid out for myself, I came in at 50%. I’m 26.2 pounds heavier than I want to be, ran 220.02 miles less than I set out to, and am 28 posts shy of my writing goal.

Insert long, drawn-out sigh here.

2016 for me felt more like a grind that was punctuated by good moments. Those moments were fleeting, like comets exploding across the horizon and burning up quickly in the atmosphere . If anything, I feel like my family members had a better year than I did: My wife went back to work outside the home and has been absolutely killing it, my son joined a new baseball team and grew in his skills, my middle daughter qualified for an advanced learning program at school, and my youngest (a ginger), has been fantastic about not stealing any souls from her fellow daycare attendees. For me, 2016 has felt like its been a case of one step forward, two steps back:

I go to the gym, drop almost 15 pounds and feel the best I have in a long time. Laziness creeps in, I stop going to the gym, gain back all the weight I lost (and then some) and get (back) on blood pressure meds.

I start counseling, make what I feel is significant progress, but get frustrated and angry when I fall back into old habits and negative ways of thinking.

I ended up getting a promotion at work. The pay is nice, but in my new role, I’m still incapable of influencing or enacting any real positive change in my workplace. I’ve been sitting on almost five years worth of process improvements and best practices that are collecting dust on the shelf.

Lets just say that all in all, I’m thankful that 2016 is coming to a close. This year took Bowie, Prince, Harambe, Mrs. Brady, and Mr. Seaver. The majority of it felt difficult and I felt like I left a lot on the proverbial table.

So where do we go from here? After the festivities of Christmas wind down, I’m going to take the last remaining days of 2016 to work on my 2017 theme. I hope to share it with you soon.

Until then, Merry Christmas, ya filthy animals.

2 thoughts on “A Look Back at 2016

Leave a Reply

