When It Rains, It Pours…(Get a Bucket)

Like many people, I start the new year full of optimism:  365 days of proverbial clean slates!  Endless possibilities!  NEW YEAR, NEW YOU!

Life, it seems, always has other plans.

We’re barely halfway through January and my house seems to be ground zero for sickness.  So far, we’ve battled croup, viral infections, an ear infection (in a child with tubes, no less!), and pink eye.  A simply routine task like putting air in my tires, albeit in sub-zero temps, led to a broken tire valve stem and left my wallet $107.00 lighter.  Nora’s bill from her surgery finally arrived at the house, and it ended up being higher than we expected.

[insert deep, protracted sigh here]

17 days ago started out with such promise, but that promise has quickly faded.  At this point, feels like we’ve devolved to hunkering down and doing our best to wait out the howling storm.

In their blog post, “How to Be Resilient“, Brett and Kate McKay define resiliency as such:

Resiliency is the ability to face setbacks, failures, crises, and pain (both emotional and physical) with confidence and courage.

It is the ability to quickly bounce back from our trials and tragedies.

It’s the quality that keeps us from giving up, even when the going gets rough. It’s the ability to stick with something through thick and thin and the power to overcome the temptation to bail put when things stop being easy.

As Brett and Kate further explore the topic of resiliency, they note that it is both reactive and active.  This is definitely a paradigm shift for me.  I’ve never looked at resiliency as anything other than a reactive trait.  Life happens, you deal with it, and you move on, right?  But rather than focusing my attention on how I react to situations, what if I began taking a more proactive approach to resiliency in my life?  Rather than beating myself up for past mistakes, getting unnecessarily angry, or “playing it safe,” what if I did the opposite?  How would that impact me as a husband, father, co-worker, and as a man?  I would venture that I’d be more content, patient, and not as stressed out as I currently am.

Acclaimed football coach Lou Holtz has been quoted as saying, “life is ten percent what happens to you and ninety percent how you respond to it.”  May we all learn to develop and nurture the quality of resiliency in our lives.  By learning how to bounce back from negative situations and be proactive in our approach for the next time life happens, we’ll lead more confident, fulfilled, and courageous lives.

How are you resilient?  What steps are you taking to develop resiliency in your life?

Leave a Reply

